Headshot of Phillip Dennis

Phillip Dennis MD PhD

VP, Disease Strategy Head, Lung Cancer, AstraZeneca

Global Clinical Lead, Lung Cancer Immuno-Oncology, AstraZeneca 

Dr Dennis is Vice President and Disease Strategy Head of Lung Cancer at AstraZeneca, having previously served as Director of the Center of Excellence in Thoracic Oncology at Johns Hopkins and Director of the Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins Bayview. Before assuming these leadership roles at Johns Hopkins, he was a Senior Investigator at NCI, where his research focused on the role of the PTEN/PI3K/Akt pathway in cancer and the development of therapies for cancers with activation of this pathway and those who live with PHTS.
Dr Dennis was an Echols Scholar at the University of Virginia and received his MD and PhD from the New York University School of Medicine as part of the Medical Scientist Training Program. His residency in Internal Medicine, fellowship in Medical Oncology, and post-doctoral fellowship were all completed at Johns Hopkins. He is the recipient of several awards including the Alton Ochsner Award Relating Smoking and Health, and an NIH Merit Award. He is an elected member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation, and was an invited contributor on the U.S. Surgeon General’s Report on How Tobacco Causes Disease – The Biology and Behavioral Basis for Tobacco-Attributable Disease.
Headshot of Dr Zisis Kozlakidis

Zisis Kozlakidis PhD AKC MBA FLS

 ICONIC Project Manager 

ISBER President 2017-18 

Chair, Centre for Excellence for Infectious Diseases BBMRI-ERIC

Dr Zisis Kozlakidis has significant expertise in the archival preservation of samples (biobanking). He serves as the President of the International Society of Biological and Environmental repositories (ISBER), and is Chair of the Centre of Excellence for Infectious Diseases for BBMRI-ERIC. His current work involves the development and integration of next generation sequencing diagnostics for a number of major viral pathogens in routine healthcare, and is overseen by the Department of Health and the Wellcome Trust at University College London.

Dr Kozlakidis is a Fellow of the Linnean Society, Royal Academy of Sciences and an Associate of King’s College London. He holds an Executive MBA from Cass Business School and is co-funder of the City Healthcare Innovation Network.

Headshot of Dr Katherine Lachlan

Katherine Lachlan MBChB MBChB FRCP

Consultant in Clinical Genetics, University Hospital Southampton

Clinical Lead, Department of Genetics, University Hospital Southampton 

Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer, Human Development and Health, Faculty of Medicine, University of Southampton 

Dr Lachlan is a consultant in clinical genetics at University Hospital Southampton where she specialises in the  genetic  diagnosis  of people   with   congenital   malformations,   learning   difficulties   and   disorders   of   sexual development,  and  in  the  clinical  interpretation  and  significance  of  genetic  test  results.  Dr Lachlan has been clinical lead for the department since 2014. 

Dr Lachlan  studied  at  Manchester  University  in  the  United  Kingdom,  graduating  with honours  in  Medicine,  Psychiatry  and  Public  Health.  She became  a member  of  the  Royal College  of  Paediatrics  and  Child  Health,  and  received  her  CCT  in  Clinical  Genetics  in  2006. She is a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians.

Eamonn Maher BSc MD FRCP FMedSci

Professor of Medical Genetics and Genomic Medicine and Honorary Consultant in Clinical Genetics, University of Cambridge 

Head of the Department of Medical Genetics, University of Cambridge  

Eamonn Maher is Professor of Medical Genetics and Genomic Medicine and Head of the Department of Medical Genetics at the University of Cambridge. His research interests cover clinical and molecular aspects of human disease genetics, with a particular focus on human cancer genetics, genomic imprinting and autosomal recessively inherited developmental disorders. 

Until 2013, Prof Maher was Professor of Medical Genetics at the University of Birmingham where he established the Centre of Rare Diseases and Personalised Medicine. He has published extensively in the fields of cancer genetics, human developmental genetics and genomic imprinting. He holds a European Research Council Advanced Researcher Award and is supported by a variety of national and international funding agencies.

Headshot of Pier Paolo Pandolfi

Pier Paolo Pandolfi MD PhD

Director, Cancer Center, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, USA

Director, Cancer Research Institute, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, USA

Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Dr Pandolfi is a geneticist and molecular biologist whose research has yielded novel insights into the role of tumour suppressor genes in human cancer. Work in his laboratory has been central to clarifying the molecular mechanisms and genetics underlying leukaemias and solid tumours.

Dr Pandolfi received his MD and PhD from the University of Perugia. He is a recipient of numerous awards, including an NIH/NCI Outstanding Investigator award, the Weizmann Institute Lombroso Prize of Cancer Research, and the Pezcoller-AACR International Award for cancer research. In 2015 he was awarded the Order of the Star of Italy.

Headshot of Dr Mustafa Sahin

Mustafa Sahin MD PhD

Professor of Neurology, Harvard Medical School

Rosamund Stone Zander Chair, Harvard Medical School 

Director, Translational Neuroscience Centre, Boston Children's Hospital 

Dr. Sahin directs the Multidisciplinary Tuberous Sclerosis Program at Boston Children’s Hospital. He is working towards an understanding of the cellular mechanisms of neuronal connectivity and its relationship to neurological dysfunction. His research centres upon Tuberous Sclerosis Complex (TSC) and Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA) – two neurological disorders whose genetic basis is well understood but whose cell biology remains unknown. Dr. Sahin holds a BSc from Brown University and an MD and PhD from Yale University School of Medicine. He has received numerous awards, including a Spinal Muscular Atrophy Foundation/AAN Young Investigator Award, the 2005 Young Investigator Award from the Child Neurology Society and a 2009 John Merck Scholar Award.